Douglas Smith League Cup Final

Following a five-goal thriller, St Mungos triumphed to secure the 19/20 Douglas Smith League Cup.

St Mungos took the lead after 5 minutes following confusion in the Finnart rearguard. A back pass was missed by goalkeeper Brian Paton, who saw the ball trundle over the goal line despite his best efforts to recover.

Finnart’s Mark Taylor saw an opportunity to score go unrewarded when his effort was off target following a series of Finnart corners.

St Mungos Daryl Naismith has a chance inside the Finnart box, but his hurried effort saw him miss control the ball then the ball strike his arm for a Finnart free-kick.

Finnart equalised on the stroke of half-time, with the ball bundled home from 6 yards.

Half time 1:1

Finnart undid their good work by conceding a second own goal early in the second half. Darryl Naismith produced a dangerous cross which Philip Morrisson turned into his own net.

Finnart’ss Daclin Healy then saw red from referee Stevie Nicholls as his mistimed tackle on Oji-Harrison-Smart was deemed dangerous.

Despite their numerical disadvantage, Finnart equalised on seventy minutes with the goal of the game. Calvin Scolin took possession of the ball some 25 yards from goal. His angled shot left St Mungos keeper Craig Hayworth no chance and nestled into the bottom of the net.

With 12 minutes to go, St Mungos scored what proved to be the winning goal. Oji-Harrison-Smart did well down the right hand side and then released Darryl Naismith who scored from close range.

Full time 2:3

Congratulations to St Mungos on their success.

The Caledonian League Executive Committee pass our thanks to Kilsyth Rangers for the utilisation of their facility for the final and to our Match Secretary, Gus Yuile, for his excellent organisation of both the final itself and the entire competition.

Finnart AFC
Brian Paton, Brandon McAuley, Declin Healy, Declan McGarrity, Philip Morrison, Steven Wilson, Ben Mills, Jordan Robertson, Ben Mills, Mark Taylor, Jamie Adam
Subs: Andrew Robertson, Calvin Scolin, Kieran Molloy, Barry Peters, Damian Cybulski

St Mungos AFC
Craig Hayworth, Scott Johnstone, Mark Mathieson, Ross Lyon, Darren Murphy, Ryan Mathieson, Oji-Harrison-Smart, John Sweeney, Darryl Naismith, Marc Melly, Ethan Dastey
Subs: James McKnight, Kieran Lynch, Ryan Clark, Mark Filshie, Marc McDonnell

Match Officials
Stevie Nicholls, David Cameron, Scott Doyle, Kenneth Rogers

Man of the Match
St Mungos number 7 – Oji-Harrison-Smart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.