Headline Makers Revisited: Tynecastle AFC Crowned Champions (May 2015)

TYNECASTLE AFC were crowned Strathclyde Saturday Morning Amateur Football League Premier Division champions for the third time in six seasons, writes Tom Scott. Today’s Article is the second in his brand new Series, and will no doubt draw a favourable reaction from the East End of Glasgow!

Trailing to a first half penalty kick against Whitfield Rovers Hamilton Palace, Tynecastle AFC eventually came good with goals from ex-junior signing Andy Dearie and Steven McGlinchey six minutes from full-time. Tynecastle captain Paul McCarthy celebrated his birthday in style by raising aloft the SSMFL Premier Division trophy following an after-match presentation.

Speaking exclusively afterwards Manager Bernie Vallely said: “Charlie Miller(ex- Rangers), had an off day and missed chances, but we got over the line in the end with a great team performance. We have a cracking bunch of lads.”

The winning Tynecastle squad was as follows: Craig Brown, Scott Faulds, Sean Cahill, Andy Dearie, captain Paul McCarthy, Chris Hughes, Kevin Taylor, Tony Cahill, Andy McLaren, Charlie Miller and Steven McGlinchey.

YOUR CLUB could feature in the new Series written by Tom. Contact him through the usual channels of communication. @scotlandsnumber on Twitter and email at shotstoppersuk@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.